List of Courses Offered in OAU (Obafemi Awolowo University)

This is the current and Updated list of Courses offered at OAU, which is the Obafemi Awolowo University.

Below is a brief history of this prestigious institution. I figured, if you are seeking admission into the Obafemi Awolowo University, there is absolutely no harm in learning a little about its history.

The Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife (OAU) is a comprehensive public institution, which was first established just two years after Nigeria gained independence from the British in 1960.

courses offered in oau

The Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife (OAU) was established in 1962. When this academic institution was created, it was known and referred to, as The “University of Ife”.

One major attribute of this institution is its gigantic and magnificent structures. The university boasts of one of the most beautiful universities in Nigeria structurally, and one of the best academic institutions in Africa.


♦. List of Courses Offered at University of Jos.
♦. OAU Post UTME Registration Form.
♦. OAU Law cut off Marks.
♦. OAU Departmental Cut off Points and JAMB cut off Marks.

Since it was established in the year 1962, several faculties and departments have emerged with numerous courses offered, which totalled up to a whopping 82 and 4 colleges of Health Sciences, including;

  • Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences,
  • Faculty of Clinical Sciences,
  • Faculty of Dentistry,
  • Institute of Public Health, etc.


Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

Consisting of ten (10) Departments:

  • Anatomy and Cell Biology
  • Chemical Pathology
  • Haematology and Immunology
  • Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  • Medical Biochemistry
  • Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics
  • Medical Rehabilitation
  • Morbid Anatomy and Forensic Medicine
  • Nursing Science
  • Physiological Sciences

Faculty of Clinical Sciences

Consisting of ten (10) Departments:

  • Anaesthesia and Intensive Care
  • Community Health
  • Dermatology and Venereology
  • Medicine
  • Mental Health
  • Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Perinatology
  • Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology
  • Paediatrics and Child Health
  • Radiology
  • Surgery

Faculty of Dentistry

Consisting of four(4) Departments:

  • Child Dental Health
  • Oral/Maxillofacial Surgery and Oral Pathology
  • Preventive and Community Dentistry
  • Restorative Dentistry


  • African Languages and Literature
  • Agricultural Economics
  • Agricultural and Environmental Engineering
  • Agricultural Extension and Rural Sociology
  • Anaesthesia and Intensive Care
  • Anatomy and Cell Biology
  • Animal Science
  • Archeology
  • Architecture
  • Biochemistry
  • Botany
  • Building
  • Business Law
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Chemical Pathology
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Community Health and Nutrition
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Continuing Education
  • Crop production
  • Demography and Social Statistics
  • Dermatology and Venerology
  • Dramatic Arts
  • Drug Research and Production Unit
  • Economics
  • Educational Administration and Planning
  • Educational Foundation and Counseling
  • Educational Technology
  • Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  • English Language
  • Environmental Health and Epidemiology
  • Estate Management
  • Fine and Applied Arts
  • Food Nutrition and Consumer Sciences
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Foreign Languages
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Haematology and Immunology
  • History
  • Institute of Education
  • International Law
  • International Relations
  • Jurisprudence and Private Law
  • Linguistics
  • Literature in English
  • Local Government Studies
  • Management and Accounting
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  • Medical Rehabilitation
  • Medicine
  • Mental Health
  • Materials Science & Engineering
  • Microbiology
  • Morbid Anatomy and Forensic Medicine
  • Music
  • Nursing
  • Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Perimatology
  • Oral Maxilofacial Surgery and Oral Pathology
  • Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology
  • Paediatrics and Child Health
  • Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Pharmaceutics
  • Pharmacognosy
  • Pharmacology
  • Philosophy
  • Physical and Health Education
  • Physics
  • Physiological Sciences
  • Plant Science
  • Political Science
  • Preventive Dentistry, Oral Medicine and Period Ontology
  • Psychology
  • Public Administration
  • Public Law
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Radiology
  • Religious Studies
  • Restorative Dentistry
  • Sociology and Anthropology
  • Soil Science
  • Special Education and Curriculum Studies
  • Surgery
  • Urban and Regional Planning
  • Zoology

Important Information.

Are you confused or have any information regarding the above information about these courses offered in Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife? then don’t waste time reporting or filing your complaints by using the comment box below. Any of our available staff will get back to you soon.

Related: OAU Predegree Program | OAU JAMB cut off Marks | WAEC Timetable.

About the author

Joseph Richard

A graduate of Medicine From IMSU, Current Nurse, Tertiary institutions news anchor and lover of Information. I love reading and sharing valuable Information/Tips/News


Leave a Comment