List of States in Nigeria – 36 States and Capitals in Nigeria

Here is the complete list of 36 states and capitals in Nigeria, Today we are going to discuss one issue that is necessary for every Nigerian. We will list the 36 states and their capitals. Well, read on to know more.

How many states in Nigeria?

Nigeria have a total of 36 states and capitals.

Federal Capital Territory.

The federal capital territory of Nigeria is FCT Abuja.

states in Nigeria

Nigerian States and Capitals.

Abia StateUmuahia
Adamawa StateYola
Akwa Ibom StateUyo
Anambra StateAwka
Bauchi StateBauchi
Bayelsa StateYenagoa
Benue StateMakurdi
Borno StateMaiduguri
Cross River StateCalabar
Delta StateAsaba
Ebonyi StateAbakaliki
Edo StateBenin City
Ekiti StateAdo-Ekiti
Enugu StateEnugu
Federal Capital TerritoryAbuja
Gombe StateGombe
Imo StateOwerri
Jigawa StateDutse
Kaduna StateKaduna
Kano StateKano
Katsina StateKatsina
Kebbi StateBirnin Kebbi
Kogi StateLokoja
Kwara StateIlorin
Lagos StateIkeja
Nasarawa StateLafia
Niger StateMinna
Ogun StateAbeokuta
Ondo StateAkure
Osun StateOshogbo
Oyo StateIbadan
Plateau StateJos
Rivers StatePort Harcourt
Sokoto StateSokoto
Taraba StateJalingo
Yobe StateDamaturu
Zamfara StateGusau

How many states are in Nigeria?

Nigeria has a total of 36 states and one federal capital territory. Here is what you need to know about the creation of Nigerian states and which government and year it was created.

Between 1960 and 1963, Nigeria was only divided into 3 regions, and was called:

  • Eastern region,
  • Eestern region,
  • Northern region.

From 1963 to 1967, Nigeria region increased to four. The additional region was added because of the carving out of the mid western region out of the old western region. Fastforward between 1967 and 1975, General Yakubu Gowon created the first 12 states in Nigeria.

The states created by General Yakubu Gowon were:

  • Rivers,
  • Cross Rivers,
  • East Central State (all from the old eastern state),
  • Bendel,
  • Western State,
  • Lagos state ( all 3 from the old western state),
  • Benue-Plateau,
  • Kaduna,
  • Kwara,
  • Kano,
  • Northwestern State,
  • North-Eastern State (all from the old northern region).

Abuja was created and carved from the old Niger State between 1976 – 1987. Gradually, the list of states in Nigeria increased to 19. Then in 1991, states in Nigeria increased to 21.

Finally, 36 states and capitals were recorded in Nigeria in the year, 1996 under the government of Abacha.

This is the full list of states in Nigeria and I think it’s very important that every Nigerian should know how many states we have. The information can be useful, especially for students and candidates who will be answering questions from Current Affairs.

Although this looks easy, many students have some difficulties when writing their term papers, answering questions or getting other research work done.

About the author

Joseph Richard

A graduate of Medicine From IMSU, Current Nurse, Tertiary institutions news anchor and lover of Information. I love reading and sharing valuable Information/Tips/News

Leave a Comment